Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

181 Medical Center Physicians Recognized Among Best Doctors In America

A total of 181 physicians who practice at The Nebraska Medical Center have been recognized on this year’s list of Best Doctors in America®. The doctors include private practice physicians as well as full and part-time faculty at the University of Nebraska Medical Center who are also affiliated with UNMC Physicians, the UNMC faculty physician group.

The list of physicians was excerpted from the Best Doctors in America® 2013-2014 database of more than 45,000 doctors in the United States. Physicians are selected on the basis of the question, “If you or a loved one needed a doctor in your specialty, to whom would you refer them?” A peer-review survey by thousands of doctors determines the doctors included in the database. Only those doctors who earn the consensus support of their peers are included and only physicians in the Best Doctors database are allowed to receive the survey, nominate others and vote.

Best Doctors in America® was founded in 1989 by two physicians affiliated with Harvard Medical School and is today a leading resource to those seeking medical advice and information.

The Nebraska Medical Center physicians and their specialty featured in the 2013-2014 database are identified below.

Dean Antonson Pediatric Gastroenterology
Kimberly Apker Radiology
John Andresen Pediatrics
Chandrakanth Are General Surgery
James Armitage Hematology/Oncology
Gregory Babbe Family Medicine
Kristina Bailey Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care Medicine
Claire Baker Endocrinology
Teri Barkoukis Pulmonary Medicine
B. Timothy Baxter General Surgery and Critical Care Medicine
Jennifer Beaty                                   Colon and Rectal Surgery
Teresa Berg Obstetrics and Gynecology
John Bertoni Neurology
Joel Bessmer Internal Medicine
Philip Bierman Hematology/Oncology
Garnet Blatchford Colon and Rectal Surgery
Brian Boerner Endocrinology
Julia Bridge Pathology
Bradley Britigan Infectious Disease
William Burke Psychiatry
Charles Burt                                       Orthopaedic Surgery
Samuel Cemaj                                   Surgery
John Colombo Pediatric Pulmonology
James Commers Hematology/Oncology
Kevin Corley Pediatric Endocrinology
Kenneth Cowan Hematology/Oncology
Robert Cusick General Surgery
David Danford Pediatric Cardiology
Jeffrey Delaney Pediatric Cardiology
Cyrus Desouza Endocrinology
Andjela Drincic Endocrinology
Kim Duncan Cardiovascular/Thoracic Surgery
Arthur Easley Cardiology
James Edney Surgical Oncology
Charles Enke Radiation Oncology
Christopher Erickson Pediatric Cardiology
Paul Esposito Orthopedic Surgery
Pierre Fayad Neurology
David Finken General Pediatrics
Diana Florescu Infectious Disease
Kenneth Follett Neurological Surgery
Harris A Frankel                                Neurology
Alison Freifeld Infectious Disease
Kevin Garvin Orthopedic Surgery
James Gigantelli Ophthalmology
Mark Goebel Orthopedic Surgery
Steven Xavier Goebel                    Orthopaedic Surgery
Dennis Goeschel Family Medicine
Whitney Goldner Endocrinology
Mark D. Goodman                           Family Medicine
Bruce Gordon Pediatric Hematology/Oncology
George Greene Neurological Surgery
Timothy Greiner Pathology
Carl Gumbiner Pediatric Cardiology
James Hammel Cardiovascular/Thoracic Surgery and Pediatrics
David Harnisch Family Medicine
Jeffrey Harrison Family Medicine
Brian Hasley Orthopedic Surgery
Angela Hewlett Infectious Disease
Steven Hinrichs Pathology
T Holmes Internal Medicine
Barbara Hurlbert Anesthesiology
Kimberly Jarzynka Family Medicine
Dwight Jones Pediatric Otolaryngology
Michael Jones                                   Gastroenterology
Prashant Joshi                                   Pediatric Specialist
Andre Kalil Infectious Disease
D. Richard Kang                                 Pediatric Specialist
Brenda Keller Geriatrics
Timothy Kingston General Surgery
Lynell Klassen Rheumatology
Sarah Konigsberg Internal Medicine
Christopher Kratochvil Psychiatry
John Kugler Pediatric Cardiology
Rudy Lackner Cardiovascular/Thoracic Surgery
Kristin Lake                                         Rheumatology
Alan Langnas Transplantation Surgery
Jennifer Larsen Endocrinology
Paul Larsen Pediatric Neurology
Audrey Lazenby Pathology
Subodh Lele Pathology
Steven Lisco Anesthesiology
William Lydiatt Otolaryngology
Daniel Lydiatt Otolaryngology
William Lyons Geriatrics
Lynn Mack Endocrinology
Thomas Magnuson Psychiatry
Mark Mailliard Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Timothy Malloy Family Medicine
Monty Mathews Family Medicine
Abraham Philip Mathews             Medical Oncology and Hematology
Timothy McCashland Gastroenterology and Hepatology
Rodney McComb Pathology
Paul Meissner Family Medicine
Ted Mikuls Rheumatology
Oleg Militsakh Otolaryngology
Jason Miller Plastic Surgery
John Mitchell II Gastroenterology
Matthew Mormino Orthopedic Surgery
Debra Mostek Geriatrics
Robert Muelleman Emergency Medicine
Sandeep Mukherjee Gastroenterology
Peter Murphy Pulmonary Medicine
J Scott Neumeister Internal Medicine
Amy Neumeister Endocrinology
Quan Dong Nguyen Ophthalmology
Stephen Obaro Pediatric-Infectious Disease
David O'Dell Internal Medicine
James O'Dell Rheumatology
Ann Olney Clinical Genetics
Matthew Omojola Radiology
Richard Osterholm Internal Medicine
William Palmer Rheumatology
Jennifer Parker General Pediatrics
Jennifer Parker Internal Medicine
Paul Paulman Family Medicine
Audrey Paulman Family Medicine
Craig Piquette Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care
Samuel Pirruccello Pathology
Sheryl Pitner General Pediatrics
Jill Poole Allergy & Immunology
Thomas Porter Cardiology
Jane Potter Geriatrics
Ruben Quiros Pediatric Gastroenterology
Stanley Radio Pathology
Stephen Raynor General Surgery
Elizabeth Reed Hematology/Oncology
Stephen Rennard Pulmonary Medicine
William Rizzo General Pediatrics
William Roccaforte Psychiatry
Kerry Rodabaugh Gynecologic Oncology
Debra Romberger Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care
Mark Rupp Infectious Disease
Paul Sammut Pediatric Pulmonology
Aaron Sasson General Surgery and Surgical Oncology
Edwin Schafer Gastroenterology
Michael Schafer Gastroenterology
Daniel Schafer Gastroenterology
Susan Scherl Orthopedic Surgery
Robert Schwab Internal Medicine
Patricia Seivert General Pediatrics
Ashish Sharma Psychiatry
Joseph Shehan Internal Medicine
Vijay Shivaswamy Endocrinology
Edibaldo Silva-Lopez Surgical Oncology
Kari Simonsen Pediatric-Infectious Disease
Joseph Sisson Pulmonary Medicine
Michael Sitorius Family Medicine
John Smith Family Medicine
Philip Smith Infectious Disease
Carl Smith Obstetrics and Gynecology
Russell Smith Otolaryngology and Surgery
Sheilah Snyder General Pediatrics
John Sparks Neonatology
Sharon Stoolman General Pediatrics
Susan Swindells Infectious Disease
Thomas Tape Internal Medicine
Britt Thedinger Otolaryngology
Austin Thompson Pulmonary Medicine
William Thorell Neurological Surgery
Alan Thorson Surgical Oncology and Colon and Rectal Surgery
Edward Vandenberg Geriatrics
Joseph Daniel Verdirame             Medical Oncology and Hematology
Chad Vokoun Hospitalist
Susanna Von Essen Pulmonary Medicine and Critical Care
Julie Vose Hematology/Oncology
Michael Wadman Emergency Medicine
Timothy Wahl Endocrinology
John Walburn General Pediatrics
Richard Walker Emergency Medicine
Craig Walker Diagnostic Radiology
Phyllis Warkentin Pediatric Hematology/Oncology and Pathology
Steven Wengel Psychiatry
William West Pathology
Douglas Wheatley Family Medicine
Mark Wilson Pediatric Pulmonology and Allergy and Immunology
John Windle Cardiology
James Wisecarver Pathology
Renee Young Gastroenterology
Zahi E. Zeidan                                    Pediatric Specialist
Weining Zhen Radiation Oncology

Make an Appointment

Call: 800.922.0000